Honorees from the 2015 Gender Justice Awards. Photo courtesy of Gender Justice League.

Honorees from the 2015 Gender Justice Awards. Photo courtesy of Gender Justice League.

Gender Justice League recently announced the finalists and recipients for the 2016 Gender Justice Awards. The annual fundraiser serves to highlight and showcase the incredible accomplishments of trans and allied individuals who have made incredible strides for trans, gender queer, non-binary, and gender non-conforming people in the Pacific Northwest. This is one of two large, annual events organized by Gender Justice League, who also put on Seattle’s annual Trans Pride festival during Pride weekend.

The announced award recipients are Jade Vogelsang (Celebration Award), Ryannah Quigley (Emergence Award), Hiram Calf-Looking (Ceremony Award), Sydney Brownstone (Media Justice Award), Seth Kirby (Longevity Award), Laurie Jinkins (Power Award), The Lady B (Zeitgeist Award), Jeremiah J. Allen (Mobilization Award), Marci Owens (Youth Justice Award), Micha Cárdenas (Creator Award), and Monisha Harrell (Accomplice Award).

Finalist include other notable names such as Marsha Botzer, Ebo Barton, BenDeLaCreme, and Tara Hardy.

The ceremony will take place on Thursday, November 17 at Melrose Market Studios on Minor and Pine. Tickets for the event start at $60, with a limited number of sliding scale tickets available as well. Proceeds from ticket sales, as well as additional gifts made at the event, will directly support Gender Justice League’s efforts including Trans Pride Seattle 2017, The Washington SAFE Alliance & Efforts to defeat anti-trans attacks, and our efforts to provide public education & training throughout the state.

This will be a smoke free and scent free event, meaning you should refrain from using chemical fragrances or products. ASL interpretation will be provided. Check out their event page for more information, or contact Gender Justice League’s Danni Askini. Tickets are available at brownpapertickets.com